Your cart
Close Alternative Icon

Semi precious stones vs. precious stones

Arrow Thin Left Icon
Semi precious stones vs. precious stones

Have you ever wondered what the difference between precious and semi-precious gemstones is? 

The classification of gemstones into precious and semiprecious dates back to the 19th century, to differentiate their value. 

Diamonds, Emeralds, Rubies and Sapphires are classified as precious stones and have traditionally been the most expensive and sought after gemstones. All other gemstones are considered semi-precious.  

Even though the classification is still in practice, it is not always correct, as it generates a false sense of value. Semi precious stones are not less valuable than precious ones, in fact some can be even more expensive. To determine their true market value more parameters need to be taken into consideration such as colour, rarity and quality.

Among some of the most expensive semi precious gemstones we find Paraiba Tourmaline, Alexandrite and Green Garnet, also known as Demantoid, with values ranging in the thousands per carat. Also Morganite and Peridot can reach a substantial value per carat.

While the four precious stones are still in high demand, coloured semi precious stones are gaining more and more popularity in fine jewellery. Their beauty, durability and vast colour palette make them an important addition in contemporary jewellery.

In the end not the commercial value but the captivating beauty of each gemstone should reflect the true value for the wearer.